Safeguarding

“Safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children is everyone’s responsibility. Everyone who comes into contact with children and their families has a role to play.” Keeping Children Safe in Education, 2021.

St Ann’s Well Academy is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment. We are fully committed to ensuring that consistent effective safeguarding procedures are in place to support families, children and staff at school.

There is a Safeguarding Team at St Ann’s Well Academy. The Designated Safeguarding Lead is Ms E Ashdown, Deputy Headteacher. The Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead is Mrs E Thorne (Headteacher). These are supported by Ms K Baker (Foundation Stage Leader), Ms H Clarke (Year 2 and English Leader) and Mr C Severyn (Year 6 Teacher and Maths Leader)

For the best interests of all our children we use the following safeguarding measures:

CAUSE FOR CONCERN

Teachers are asked to report any causes for concern to the School Safeguarding Team using a written proforma. Any concerns will be shared with parents as early as possible as more often than not there are extremely reasonable explanations for the concern. Concerns may range from children being visibly upset to persistent lateness to children ‘disclosing’ concerns.

ATTENDANCE

All lateness and absences are recorded.  Reasons will be sought for all absence or lateness. Attendance is monitored through these systems and referrals to the Safeguarding Team can be made. Parents will always be informed of concerns around attendance at the earliest point. If attendance concerns continue the school will refer to the Education Welfare Officer.

If you  are concerned about the welfare of a child and believe that they are in imminent risk of harm, please call 999.

Anyone can make a referral to social care on the following number: 0115 876 4800

You can also contact myself, Mrs E Ashdown (Safeguarding Lead) or Mrs E Thorne (Deputy Safeguarding Lead) or any member of the safeguarding team on 0115 915 5808.

Wellbeing

We have an important role to play in supporting the mental wellbeing of our pupils.  Early intervention to identify issues and provide effective support is crucial.  Our role in supporting and promoting mental health and wellbeing can be summarised as:

  • Prevention: creating a safe and calm environment where mental health problems are less likely, improving the mental health and wellbeing of the whole school population, and equipping pupils to be resilient so that they can manage the normal stress of life effectively. This will include teaching pupils about mental wellbeing through the curriculum and reinforcing this teaching through school activities and ethos;
  • Identification: recognising emerging issues as early and accurately as possible;
  • Early support: helping pupils to access evidence based early support and interventions; and
  • Access to specialist support: working effectively with external agencies to provide swift access or referrals to specialist support and treatment.

Stress and worry is a normal part of life and many issues can be experienced as mild or transitory challenges for some children and their families.  Others will experience more serious and longer lasting effects.  Coronavirus has had an impact on children and their families in differing ways including anxiety, low mood, bereavement, loneliness and isolation. 

There are varying helplines and websites that are available to support your child and your family:

Samaritans

0330 094 5717 or 116 123

Shout

Shout offers confidential 24/7 crisis text support for times when you need immediate assistance.Text “SHOUT” to 85258 or visit Shout Crisis Text Line

NHS

NHS 111 advice online

HopelineUK

Crisis support for young people:  If you are under 35 and feel that life is not worth living any more, call Papyrus’s HopelineUK from 9am to 10pm weekdays and 2pm to 10pm on weekends. Call HopelineUK on 0800 068 41 41; Text 07786 209697.   Visit the Papyrus website

CALM

CALM is the Campaign Against Living Miserably, for people in the UK who are down or have hit a wall for any reason.Call 0800 58 58 58 (daily, 5pm to midnight).  Free, anonymous webchat with trained staffVisit the CALM website

DfE

Coronavirus helpline – 0800 046 8687

[email protected]

INTERNET SAFETY

UK Council for Internet Safety- https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/uk-council-for-internet-safety

UK Safer Internet Centre – https://www.saferinternet.org.uk/

South West Grid for Learning – https://swgfl.org.uk/

Family Lives:  A national family support charity providing help and support in all aspects of family life.

www.familylives.org.uk

0808 800 2222.

SAFEGUARDING

Childline – https://www.childline.org.uk/

CEOP – https://www.ceop.police.uk/safety-centre/

Internet Matters – https://www.internetmatters.org/

Net Aware – https://www.net-aware.org.uk/

MENTAL HEALTH

ThinkUKnow – https://www.thinkuknow.co.uk/

YoungMinds – https://youngminds.org.uk/

Mental Health Foundation – https://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/

NHS Every Mind Matters – https://www.nhs.uk/oneyou/every-mind-matters/

Anna Freud National Centre for Children and Families –https://www.annafreud.org/

Childrens Society – https://www.childrenssociety.org.uk/

Place2be – https://www.place2be.org.uk/

Shout – https://www.giveusashout.org/

CORONAVIRUS

NHS 119

https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/

Public Health England –https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/public-health-england

BEREAVEMENT

Winstons Wish – https://www.winstonswish.org/

Childhood Bereavement Network – http://www.childhoodbereavementnetwork.org.uk/

Hope Again – https://www.hopeagain.org.uk/

Safeguarding Policy 2021

Safeguarding Curriculum Overview